Camp Kirkwood

I remember the camp Kirkwood trip like it was yesterday. So let me tell you what happened.

So, the trip was from Durham, N.C, to Watha, N.C. When we got off the bus, tired from a two hour bus ride, we immediately went to a pavilion that was built like a basketball court. It was pouring. We took a random bag to the pavilion, learned the rules of the camp, and we headed to our cabins. It was an actual hurricane. After we got to our cabins, we had to unpack our stuff. This didn’t take too long, thankfully. After we unpacked our stuff, we got out the raincoats and got out the door to head to lunch.

When we got to the cafeteria, there were already three other cabins there. They were sitting by advisory, but some people woke up today, and decided that they were going to do the exact opposite of what they were supposed to do. So there was no place for me, and the rest of the kids in my advisory group to sit. So the teachers just said, “Sit wherever you want.” So I sat with Jonah, Ajay, and Aaron. We had a beautiful lunch of very bad looking ham and cheese sandwiches. Delish.

I made a half court shot in boys vs girls and won it for us in the first 30 seconds of the battle ball. Battle ball is dodgeball, but if you make it in your opponent’s basket with the pink ball, you win.

Fast forward to after lunch, we got to go to the V swing. A V swing is a swing that swings you in the shape of a V. And does that reeeeally high up. When I went, I screamed at the top of my lungs. Then everybody else had to embarrass me by not screaming. 

At the end of the trip, we had to take the longest ride I’ve ever been on. Or at least it felt like that. When I got in my mom’s car, I was exhausted. I probably slept for, like, 9 hours. The trip was fine, the rides were torturous, and the rain was brutal, but this trip was still fun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *